University of Heidelberg consists of 12 faculties after a structural reformation in 2003, which in turn encompass several disciplines, departments, and institutes. As an outcome of Bologna process, most faculties now offer Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Ph.D. degrees in order to comply with new European degree standard. Notable exceptions are undergraduate programs in law, medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, from which students still graduate with State Examination. A central examination at Master’s level is held by the State of Baden-Württemberg.

  1. The Faculty of Behavioral Sciences and Empirical Cultural Sciences
  2. The Faculty of Biosciences
  3. The Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences
  4. The Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences
  5. The Faculty of Law
  6. The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  7. The Faculty of Medicine
  8. The Faculty of Medicine in Mannheim
  9. The Faculty of Modern Languages
  10. The Faculty of Philosophy and History
  11. The Faculty of Physics and Astronomy
  12. The Faculty of Theology


  1. Network for Research on Ageing
  2. Central Institute of Mental Health Mannheim
  3. Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research
  4. Heidelberg State Observatory
  5. University Hospital Heidelberg
  6. University Hospital Mannheim


Nationally and internationally university has several partnerships. In particular, it upholds ancient alliances in research and education with following independent research institutes located in and around Heidelberg:

  1. College of Jewish Studies (Central Consistory of the Jews in Germany)
  2. European Molecular Biology Laboratory
  3. German Cancer Research Center (Helmholtz Association)
  4. Heavy Ion Research Center Darmstadt (Helmholtz Association)
  5. Heidelberg Academy of Sciences
  6. Karlsruhe Research Center (Helmholtz Association)
  7. Max Planck Institute for Astronomy
  8. Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law
  9. Max Planck Institute for Medical Research